California Drunk Driving Requirements
If you are arrested in State of California for driving under the influence you will face a criminal court case and an administrative per se hearing through the California Department of Motor Vehicles to determine the status of your driving privileges. If you are convicted of a DUI, you could be required to:
- Complete an alcohol program
- Serve three (3) years of informal probation
- Pay fines of $390 to $1000 plus penalty assessments
- Serve jail time
- Complete court ordered community service
- Attend a MADD Victim Impact Panel
- Attend AA Meetings
- Wear a SCRAM Continuous Alcohol Monitoring device
- Install an Ignition Interlock Device
Depending on the circumstances of your case, some or all of these may be required by the judge and/or CA DMV to reinstate your driving privileges. Driving under the influence is a serious offense in California and across the United States. Because of the number of alcohol-related deaths on America’s roadways, law enforcement is cracking down. A conviction for driving under the influence can cost you around $10,000 considering the cost of hiring an attorney and increased insurance premiums. It will only continue to get more expensive. If you are arrested for a second or subsequent DUI, most jurisdictions will require mandatory jail time and at least a year long license suspension.
Alcohol-monitoring devices can save lives, not only for those wearing them but for everyone on the road. Monitors like the SCRAM CAM test for alcohol-consumption 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. They ensure that an offender is remaining completely sober during the monitoring period. If a positive drinking event is registered, they are immediately referred back to the court and could face additional penalties for violating a court order or the terms of their probation.